desires & expectations

March 15, 2009

i went to church tonight by myself. the first time i have ever gone to church by myself, and not expecting to meet someone there. and this is what i learned.

desire: a strong feeling of wanting to have something or wishing something to happen.

i desire to move from where i am. i desire to succeed at my job. i desire to have a boyfriend. i desire to live by the beach. i desire to get my masters. i desire to…and the list goes on.

expectations: a strong belief that something will happen or be the case in the future.

desires should never be something that we start to expect. but unfortunately, i have expected them. but why? it might be because other people get things they want. or because i think i deserve it, its my turn. but as soon as i start to expect what i want, i am left disappointed.

i should never expect God or anyone, to give me something i want. i don’t deserve anything. but i do expect it. i have turned my desires into expectations and have been left with a feeling of disappointment. all because i expected something to happen. it was all about me. and what i wanted.

but what does God want?

he wants me to please him. then he will give me the desires, not the expectations.

“delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart” psalm 37:4

2 Responses to “desires & expectations”

  1. Michael M said

    An attitude of expectation or entitlement is one of the biggest turn offs I see in the opposite sex. Unfortunately we all have this attitude to a certain extent. Keep asking God what he wants for you instead of what you want for you. Good post Linnie

  2. Michael M said

    Linnie.
    The name of this blog is thoughts from a blonde.
    However since you don’t update it very much, it makes me think that blondes don’t have many thoughts, therefore magnifying the stereotype.

Leave a comment